Photos Library

View All

Sultan Al Qasimi explores academic cooperation with University of Surrey’s Art School in UK

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Muhammad Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, visited one of the UK’s most respected universities on Monday, touring the institution’s rich educational grounds, which combines pioneering research with a modern seat of learning. The journey to the University of Surrey in South East England included meeting several key members of the faculty and provided an introduction to its learning methods, based on experimentation, practice and education.

The university, which specialises in science, engineering, medicine and business, has a world-class profile and global reputation for academic excellence in teaching as well as performing arts and creativity.

In recognising the English university’s achievements and ambitions, His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi said that knowledge and creativity in Sharjah is also the key to nurturing new generations and strengthening their artistic and academic potential. He added that the emirate is opening up new channels of communication with research institutions worldwide to exchange experiences and expertise to support young talent.

“Literature and art are essential to cross-cultural dialogue, which must be nurtured in younger generations both academically and professionally. This ensures that different populations from different societies can share common interests, helping them to co-exist in a more stable and secure environment,” Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi said.

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi was accompanied by Sheikha Hoor bint Sultan Al Qasimi, President of Sharjah Art Foundation, Dr. Amr Abdul Hamid, Director of Sharjah Research Academy and Eng. Ali Shahin Al Suwaidi, Chairman of the Department of Public Works in Sharjah.

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi and the university administration discussed opportunities to develop programmes and joint initiatives to enhance the academic and artistic visions of Sharjah Art Academy. His Highness announced the establishment of the academy last month at the end of Sharjah Theatrical Days 2017 with a view to providing education and training for lovers of theatre and visual arts to drive the creative movement in the Arab world.

His Highness The Ruler of Sharjah toured various facilities within the university campus where he was briefed about the programmes offered by the Ivy Arts Centre, a modern performing arts hub which provides opportunities for theatre, film and live music.

Sheikha Hoor Al Qasimi showcased the goals of the Sharjah Art Foundation and highlighted the forums and events it hosts to reinforce the artistic movement in the region, with a focus on the Sharjah Biennial, the March Meeting and a number of annual exhibitions.

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi was briefed on academic programmes and educational plans pursued by the university to further its research and educational system. Aside from performing arts, the university offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate degree courses including hospitality, finance, tourism, trade, marketing, healthcare management and MBA degrees, in addition to a wider range of programmes on administration and business management.

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi discussed how the Sharjah Art Academy can benefit from the University of Surrey's pioneering work in creative arts, while offering such a distinguished range of academic programmes designed to provide the highest quality education to its students.

His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah praised the university's internationally acclaimed reputation as a leading institution for academic excellence. The university's roots go back to the Battersea Polytechnic Institute, which was founded in 1891 to provide higher education to London's poorer classes. The university gained its status as a university after receiving the Royal Charter on September 9, 1966.

مكتبة الصور

عرض الكل

بحث سبل التعاون في مجال التأهيل الأكاديمي للمواهب الفنية

سلطان القاسمي يزور جامعة سري في لندن

أكد صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة، أن البنية التعليمية والإبداعية في الشارقة تشكل ركيزة أساسية في بناء الأجيال الجديدة، وتعزز طاقاتها الفنية والجمالية، مشيراً إلى أن الإمارة تفتح قنوات التواصل مع المؤسسات الأكاديمية والبحثية في العالم لتبادل الخبرات والتجارب الرائدة لدعم المواهب، وتخريج أفواج من الفنانين والمبدعين. 

وقال صاحب السمو أن الآداب والفنون بأشكالها كافة هي مفاتيح الحوار الإنساني الحضاري التي يجب تدعميها وتكريسها أكاديميا ومهنيا في الأجيال الجديدة ليكون للثقافات والحضارات المختلف قاعدة جمالية يمكن أن تلتقي عليها لبناء حياة يعمها السلام والأمان والمحبة.

جاء ذلك خلال زيارة سموه، صباح أمس، ترافقه الشيخة حور بنت سلطان القاسمي، رئيسة مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، لجامعة سري الإنجليزية في غلدفورد جنوب العاصمة البريطانية لندن، حيث تعرّف سموه الى تجربتها التعليمية المتخصصة في الفنون المتنوعة، والأساليب والآليات المتبعة في تكريس منظومة تعليمية تجمع بين البحث المعرفي الأكاديمي، والخبرة العملية القائمة على التجريب والممارسة والتعليم.

وناقش صاحب السمو مع إدارة الجامعة سبل التعاون والعمل المشترك في مجال التأهيل الأكاديمي للمواهب الفنية بمختلف مجالاتها لتعزيز المناهج والرؤى التي تنطلق منها أكاديمية الشارقة للفنون التي أعلن سموه عن تأسيسها في مارس الماضي ضمن ختام فعاليات أيام الشارقة المسرحية 2017 بهدف تعليم وتأهيل عشاق المسرح والفنون البصرية لتعزيز الحراك الإبداعي في الإمارات والوطن العربي.

وتجول سموه في عدد من أقسام ومرافق الجامعة حيث تعرف على الخطط والبرامج التي يقدمها مركز ايفي للفنون الذي يعد آخر إضافات الجامعة التي أنشأت لخدمة الفنون المسرحية والسينمائية والموسيقية متوقفا عند تجربة المركز ودوره كمنصة لتقديم مختلف العروض والابتكارات متعددة التخصصات.

من جانبها قدمت الشيخة حور القاسمي خلال الزيارة شرحا تعريفيا للرؤى والأهداف التي تنطلق منها مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون متوقفة عند الملتقيات والفعاليات التي تستضيفها لتعزيز الحراك الفني في الإمارات والعالم العربي حيث تنظم المؤسسة بينالي الشارقة للفنون وفعاليات مارس للفنون وعددا من المعارض السنوية.

واطلع صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة على البرامج والخطط التي تتبعها كليات الجامعة في تطوير منظومتها البحثة والتعليمية حيث تقدم الجامعة دراسات البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا المعتمدة دوليا في مجال الفنون المسرحية والسينمائية والموسيقية إلى جانب تخصصات الضيافة والعلوم المالية والسياحة والتجارة والتسويق وإدارة الرعاية الصحية وماجستير إدارة الأعمال بالإضافة إلى مجموعة أكبر من برامج دراسات تخصصات الإدارة وإدارة الأعمال.

وتوقف سموه عند الآليات التي يمكن من خلالها لأكاديمية الشارقة للفنون و الاستفادة من تجربة الجامعة إذ تتميز جامعة سري في تقديم مجموعة متميزة من البرامج الأكاديمية في التخصصات الفنية إلى جانب المرافق المهنية المعدة بشكل مهني لتعليم الطلاب المنتسبين للجامعة.

وأشاد سموه بتجربة الجامعة وريادتها على مستوى التعليم الدولي وتطور منظومتها الدراسية حيث تعود جذورها إلى معهد بترسي للعلوم التقنية الذي تأسس في العام 1891 لتقديم التعليم العالي للطبقات الفقيرة في مدينة لندن وحصلت الجامعة على الميثاق الملكي في التاسع من أيلول في عام 1966 بعد أن كانت باسم كلية بترسي للتكنولوجيا قبل أن تصبح جامعة معتمدة.