Photos Library

View All

Sultan Al Qasimi witnesses announcement of programme of SWBC 2019

During his visit to the 48th edition of the London Book Fair (LBF), His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Muhammad Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, has witnessed the announcement of the programme to celebrate the “Sharjah World Book Capital 2019” (SWBC 2019) title, which was launched by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), as the first city in the GCC region, third in the Arab world, and 19th globally to hold this prestigious title.

The programme was announced in the presence of Sheikha Bodour bint Sultan Al Qasimi, Vice President of the International Publishers Association (IPA). The emirate of Sharjah is witnessing a big cultural celebration during a grand inaugural on April 23, 2019, which aims in engaging book lovers of all age groups, interests and cultural backgrounds.

His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah has been acquainted with the six guiding principles: Unifying Communities, Fostering Knowledge, Honouring Heritage, Empowering Children & Youth, Raising Awareness, and Developing Publishing Industries. As the emirate seeks to foster a vibrant culture of reading in the UAE community, instill a sense of belonging to knowledge and to books, and turn reading into a daily activity, practiced especially by children and young adults.

The emirate of Sharjah also seeks to highlight the importance of protecting the nation’s heritage illustrated in Emirati and Arabic novels, by passing it down to future generations.

Sharjah World Book Capital has participated in an interactive platform to promote the ‘beach libraries’ along the shores of Sharjah. The programme will be organised by Sharjah Investment & Development Authority (Shurooq), Sharjah Municipality, Sharjah Ladies Club (SLC), and Knowledge without Borders (KwB).

مكتبة الصور

عرض الكل

سلطان القاسمي يشهد إعلان برنامج فعاليات «الشارقة عاصمة عالمية للكتاب»

شهد صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة، صباح يوم أمس الثلاثاء، ضمن زيارة سموه لفعاليات الدورة 48 لمعرض لندن للكتاب الإعلان عن برنامج أنشطة وفعاليات الاحتفاء بحصول الشارقة لقب «العاصمة العالمية للكتاب 2019»، الذي منحتها لها منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة (اليونسكو)، كأول مدينة خليجية تحمل اللقب، والثالثة عربياً والتاسعة عشرة عالمياً.

جاء الإعلان بحضور الشيخة بدور بنت سلطان القاسمي، رئيس اللجنة الاستشارية للشارقة عاصمة عالمية للكتاب، حيث تم الكشف عن فعاليات اللقب إذ تشهد الإمارة احتفالات ضخمة في جميع مناطقها ومدنها بدءاً من 23 أبريل المقبل، وتواصل على مدار عام كامل بمشاركة جميع فئات المجتمع من مقيمين وزوّار.

واطلع صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة على المحاور الستة التي حددت فعاليات اللقب، وهي: مجتمع واحد، وتعزيز ثقافة القراءة، وإحياء التراث، والأطفال والشباب، والتوعية المجتمعية، وصناعة النشر، إذ تسعى الإمارة إلى تعزيز ثقافة القراءة، وغرس قيم الانتماء للمعرفة والكتاب وجعل المطالعة فعل يومي سائد لدى جميع فئات المجتمع لا سيما الأطفال والشباب.

كما تعمل الشارقة من خلال المحاور الستة إلى إضافة دعم النشر والناشرين بمجموعة من الخيارات الواعدة، والتأكيد على الاهتمام بإحياء التراث، باعتباره خزانة المعرفة، والثروة الحقيقة للشعوب التي من خلالها سيتم نقل الروايات العربية والإماراتية وفتح الباب على جمالياتها السردية والمعرفية للأجيال الجديدة من خلال الفعاليات التي تنظمها على مدار العام.

حيث شاركت الشارقة عاصمة عالمية للكتاب بمنصة تفاعلية للترويج عن إحدى فعاليات سنة اللقب وهي مكتبات شاطئية في شواطئ الشارقة، كما تهدف هذه الفعالية للترويج عن القراءة لكل فئات المجتمع، وستقام الفعالية بمشاركة وتنظيم من جهات ومؤسسات بالشارقة وهي هيئة الشارقة للاستثمار والتطوير «شروق»، وبلدية مدينة الشارقة، ونادي سيدات الشارقة، وثقافة بلا حدود.