Photos Library

View All

A Pleasant Trip between the Giants of the French Theater

Sultan Presents the Lovers of Historical Drama a New Book

The French theater is one of the oldest theaters in the whole world, either at the level of texts and books, or at the level of the many schools that have emerged over the centuries in it. This theater has faithfully embodied most of the historical transformations that France experienced. It was therefore a suitable platform for studying historical plays for researchers and theater specialists.

As a result of the interest of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Muhammad Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, in the theater, in general, and his keenness to spread the culture of theatrical play among the workers in the field of art Abu Dhabi in the UAE and in the Arab world. His book entitled «History on the French Stage», which was recently published by Al-Qasimi Publications, is dedicated to dedicating his awareness of the necessity of providing world-class theater experiences. And make them available without trouble and in an intensive, smooth and enjoyable manner for the Arab reader and the theater operator in particular.

His Highness began his book with an introduction entitled «History on the French Stage», in which he gave a brief overview of the French historical scene. He said: «The historical theater in France dates back to the fifteenth century AD and is chronicled by the play of the siege of Orleans».

His Highness then reviews the status of the historical theater and its golden age in France, so he said, «The historical theater knew its golden age when the new romanticism, from the story writers or odysseys, or to risk major historical events," he said. They were the ones who found the daily reality weak and unattractive. Hence, they hoped to find in the past their longing for something more beautiful than reality. The number of historical plays in the twentieth century is estimated to be at least two hundred plays».

His Highness then confirms that he chose the most important of those who staged historical plays in France to show their different treatments of history. "I have chosen the most important French playwrights among the eleven historical playwrights," he said. I chose some of their plays to show their different treatments of history in their theatrical work".

The first to be studied by his highness in this area was the French poet, novelist and playwright Edmund Rustan, who gave him an introduction. So he said about him, «Edmund Rustan was a poet, novelist and French playwright who was born on 1 April 1868 in Marseilles and died on December 2, In December 1918, leaving an important literary history consisting of twelve works from a novel, a play, and collection of poems».

His Highness then refers to his choice of two historical plays for Rustan, and the reasons for his choice, saying: «I have chosen from his historical plays two plays: the first (Cyrano de Bergerac). This play was first performed on December 28, 1896 in Paris».

His Highness explains how this play has been very successful and widely recognized not only in France but in many countries of the world. He said, «This work was a success for the playwright (Rustan). The play has been translated into many languages all over the world, and surprisingly, Serrano has become a national symbol in all the countries where it was represented».

His Highness shows the historical background in which the play came, and how it raised the French morale in circumstances that France needed to do so, he said: «The play came at the right time to raise the morale of France, which was damaged by the loss of parts of its territory after the Franco-Prussian Wars of 1870».

Hence, the second play chosen by His Highness for the playwright Rustan is the play «The Eagle's chick.«His Highness said about its topic: «Rustan chose a topic on history, about Napoleon II (1811-1832), who was born in Paris and was proclaimed King of Rome after his birth. The play contains a lot of unknown information about the unfortunate life of this little prince, the son of Napoleon from Mary Louise of Austria, in the court of Schönbrunn in Vienna, where he lived under the protection of his grandfather who was closely watched by the powerful Austrian prince».

The second example addressed by his highness was the playwright Roman Roland, he said about him: «Roland is considered a modern thinker of defenders of peace, and won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1915, his victory is rendered a tribute to the noble ideal in his literary production».

His Highness chose one play as an example of Roland's historical work, a play by Robespier, and praised it and considered it a wonderful work packed with astonishment, and said: «The whole play is a wonderful work, where the emphases and the cycle of the epic runs in a real way, showing the characteristics of fidelity, corruption and continuous brutality, along with greatness, self-sacrifice, but the picture is real and truthful, so that in greatness, man's humility appears vague».

The third model brought by His Highness is the playwright and novelist Albert Camus and chose his famous play «Caligula». His Highness introduced the play saying: «The novel of Caligula speaks of the little Roman Emperor Caligula who was shocked by the sudden death of his sister whom he loved».

Then, he presented a reading of its conceptual contents and explained its main character traits. He said: «His puzzling and timid contemplations led him to believe that his place or position has limitless powers. He is the king of the world, but his mind is muddled with sorrow as he is struggling to control the world».

His Highness then presented another model, Jean Cocteau, and chose from his works three plays, the first was the play «Antigone» about which he said: «It is the original Antigone story, it is a very short play of one chapter, written by the ancient Greek theater (Sophocles) in 441 BC. And then became a common theme for books, plays and other works taken from it».

The second play of Cocto, which was chosen by His Highness in his book is the play «Orfi», and a comparison was held between them with the film directed by Cocteau in 1950 which carries the name of the play itself that is shown at the Cannes Film Festival.

The third play chosen by His Highness for Cocto is the play "Knights of the Round Table", where he said: «In this play, the French poet Cocto used the legend for the purposes of reducing the greatness of the kings and presidents and those around them».

His Highness addresses an important station in French theater where he talks about Henry de Montréal, the famous playwright. From which the author was chosen to discuss the play «The Dead Queen», describing it as a wonderful fairy tale and tragic epic. The story revolves around Pedro I, the king of Portugal and his lover Ennis de Castro, where they lived a love story away from the eyes of the parasites and corruptors. Their relationship was surrounded by the darkness of the Prince's darkness that surrounds the father of King Badro, the crazy, strong and powerful man.

But for the playwright "Alexandre Arnaud", his highness chose from his plays "Hyun Bordeaux", which is full of exciting and sarcastic details, inspired by the magical melodrama, in nine scenes, with a poetic system, a good prose and inspired by the songs of the championship. Hence, the play events take place at the end of the reign of Charlemagne, King of France, where Hyun, the son of the Duke of Bordeaux, killed the son of Charlemagne, Charlotte. The emperor was enraged by his madness. He ordered Hyun to come with four molars and knapsacks from the beard of Godis, the prince of Babylon, or else Hyun would be exonerated.

His Highness stops at an important turning point in the history of French theater when Alexandre Douma deals with the most famous French writers, translating his works into 100 languages. He founded the French Historical Theater in Paris. The author of his play "Henry III and his servants", which tells the life of Henry III of France, and the machinations that were woven in his court.

Among the works of the writer and poet playwright Paul Clodel, the author of deep religious poems, his highness chose the play "Christopher Columbus book, 1833", while the playwright Jean Annouy stopped to choose from his work "Jean d'Arc". It is a historical work that speaks of the old French heroine who helped King Charles VII of France and stopped the English from the siege of the French city Orléan. Many of the plays that he himself divided into groups based on the prevailing theme of the play, and he divided it as follows: Black: They are tragic and realistic plays. Pink: It is the most fantastical. Brilliant: It is predominantly pink and black. These plays are running in an aristocratic atmosphere. There is a scathing or sarcastic work that is a kind of black comedy that gives rise to bitter laughter. And historical plays in which its heroes are characters dating back to different eras and acts of "parquet" that are based on decoration, accessories and expensive technologies.

His Highness addresses one of the most prominent French and international writers in theater, Jean Paul Sartre. He is a philosopher, writer and critic. He has been influenced by the appearance of both Philosophers Huserl and Heidegger. He has famous stories and plays including: Existence and nothingness, eternal dirty, and he refused to accept the Nobel Prize when he won in 1964. Thus, His Highness has chosen from his many works the play "Satan and the Good God", a work consisting of three chapters, and eleven scenes, and deals with: human nature, God and Satan, and the question: "Is good possible?", The events take place in Germany in the sixteenth century, In the time of the peasants' revolt against the Church.

Concerning the native Russian playwright, Sasha Gitri, who hit the record of one hundred forty plays, most notably the New Testament and Cameron's speech. His highness has elected from his plays "The Lame Devil, Scenes from the Life of Talairan", a biography of the French priest and diplomat Charles Maurice Talierne Bérigold, who served his country for 50 years under the command of five different French regimes: Absolute monarchy, revolution, consulate, empire, and constitutional monarchy.

His Highness addresses the play "Sasha Gitri", in some detail, as he is a playwright, actor, director, filmmaker, screenwriter, many of whom have been overwhelmingly successful. He has also directed thirty-six films, most of which he has performed. He has a great biography, although for a long time he was considered an obscure writer.

Thus, His Highness discussed this play and was not found in libraries, French archives and the National Library in Paris until he found it in Belgium. It may be the only remaining version in good condition. Therefore, His Highness has achieved its artistic value. He affirms that Gitri is worthy of being an example of the study of history in theatrical work. Therefore, this play is suitable to be the subject of our study of history on the stage of France, where history and its characters appear in the treatment of the existing present.

The book provides fun and knowledge of the French theater, its present and its glorious history. Indeed, it reflects a journey that His Highness has embarked upon between these great French playwrights to elect a number of their glorious works. His efforts are not limited to the definition of the book and their theatrical works, And cognitive knowledge of each presentation. This book is indispensable to readers and researchers in the history of French theater, and its effects are present and present strongly, in the contemporary theater scene.

Source: Al Khaleej Newspaper - Alaa Eddin Mahmoud, Mohammed Lahbib

مكتبة الصور

عرض الكل

رحلة ممتعة بين عمالقة المسرح الفرنسي

سلطان يهدي عشاق الدراما التاريخية كتاباً جديداً

يعتبر المسرح الفرنسي أحد أعرق المسارح في العالم كله، سواء على مستوى النصوص والكتَاب، أو على مستوى المدارس الإخراجية العديدة التي ظهرت فيه على مدار عدة قرون، وقد جسد ذلك المسرح بإخلاص معظم التحولات التاريخية التي مرت بها فرنسا، فكان بحق منصة مناسبة لدراسة المسرحيات التاريخية بالنسبة إلى الباحثين والمتخصصين في المسرح.

ونتيجة اهتمام صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى، حاكم الشارقة، بالمسرح، بشكل عام، وحرصه على نشر الثقافة المسرحية الرصينة في أوساط العاملين في مجال إبي الفنون في الإمارات، وفي الوطن العربي، يأتي كتاب سموه المعنون بـ«التاريخ على خشبة المسرح الفرنسي»، والصادر حديثاً عن منشورات القاسمي، ليكرس وعي سموه بضرورة توفير التجارب المسرحية العالمية العريقة، وجعلها متاحة من دون عناء، وبأسلوب مركّز وسلسل وممتع للقارئ العربي، وللمشتغل بالمسرح بشكل خاص.

ابتدأ سموه الكتاب بمقدمة بعنوان «التاريخ على خشبة المسرح الفرنسي»، استعرض من خلالها نبذة عن المسرح التاريخي الفرنسي فقال: «يعود المسرح التاريخي في فرنسا إلى القرن الخامس عشر الميلادي، ويؤرخ له بمسرحية -حصار أورليان-».

يستعرض سموه بعد ذلك مكانة المسرح التاريخي وعصره الذهبي في فرنسا فقال: «عرف المسرح التاريخي عصره الذهبي عندما لجأ الرومانسيون الجدد، من كتاب القصص أو ملاحم البطولة، أو المخاطرة إلى الأحداث التاريخية الكبرى، فقد كانوا هم الذين يجدون الواقع اليومي غثاً هزيلاً، وكانوا يأملون أن يجدوا في الماضي توقهم إلى ماهو أجمل من الواقع، ويقدر عدد المسرحيات التاريخية في القرن العشرين الميلادي بمئتي مسرحية على الأقل».

ويؤكد سموه بعد ذلك على أنه اختار أهم من ألفوا مسرحيات تاريخية في فرنسا لإظهار معالجاتهم المختلفة للتاريخ، وقال: «لقد اخترت أهم المؤلفين المسرحيين الفرنسيين من بين الذين ألفوا مسرحيات تاريخية، وعددهم أحد عشر مؤلفاً، واخترت بعضاً من مسرحيات كل واحد منهم، لإظهار معالجاتهم المختلفة للتاريخ في أعمالهم المسرحية».

وكان أول من تناولهم سموه بالدراسة في ذلك المجال هو الشاعر والروائي والمسرحي الفرنسي إدموند روستان، وأعطى عنه نبذة تعريفية فقال عنه: «كان إدموند روستان، شاعراً وروائياً ومسرحياً فرنسياً، ولد في الأول من شهر إبريل/ نيسان من عام 1868م، في مدينة مرسيليا، وتوفي في الثاني من ديسمبر/ كانون الأول من عام 1918م، تاركاً تاريخاً أدبياً مهماً تألف من اثني عشر مؤلفاً بين رواية، ومسرحية، وديوان شعر».

ويشير سموه بعد ذلك إلى اختياره مسرحيتين تاريخيتين لروستان، وعن أسباب اختياره ذاك يقول: «لقد اخترت من مسرحياته التاريخية مسرحيتين وهما: الأولى (سيرانو دو برجراك) وقد تم تمثيل هذه المسرحية لأول مرة في الثامن والعشرين من شهر ديسمبر/ كانون الأول من عام 1896م في باريس».

ويشرح سموه كيف أن تلك المسرحية نالت نجاحاً كبيراً وشهرة واسعة ليس في فرنسا وحدها، بل في العديد من دول العالم فقال: «حقق ذلك العمل المسرحي نجاحاً لمؤلفه (روستان) فقد انتشرت المسرحية التي ترجمت إلى العديد من اللغات في كل أنحاء العالم، وبشكل مثير للدهشة، إذ إن شخصية (سيرانو) أصبحت رمزاً وطنياً في كل البلدان التي تم تمثيلها فيها».

ويبين سموه الخلفية التاريخية التي جاءت فيها المسرحية، وكيف أنها رفعت الروح المعنوية الفرنسية في ظروف كانت فرنسا تحتاج إلى ذلك فقال: «جاءت المسرحية في الوقت المناسب لرفع الروح المعنوية لفرنسا المصدومة بفقدان أجزاء من أراضيها بعد الحروب الفرنسية البروسية عام 1870م».

والمسرحية الثانية التي اختارها سموه للكاتب روستان هي مسرحية «فرخ النسر»، وقال سموه عن موضوعها: «اختار روستان موضوعاً عن التاريخ، وهو عن نابليون الثاني (1811م-1832م)، الذي ولد في باريس، ونودي به ملكاً على روما بعد ولادته، والمسرحية تتضمن الكثير من المعلومات غير المعروفة عن الحياة التعيسة لهذا الأمير الصغير، نجل نابليون من ماري لويز النمساوية، في بلاط (شونبرن) في فيينا، والذي عاش فيه تحت أنظار جده، مراقباً عن كثب من قبل الأمير النمساوي المتنفذ».

المثال الثاني الذي تناوله سموه هو الأديب رومان رولان، وقد قال عنه: «يعتبر رولان من قادة الفكر الحديث المدافعين عن السلام، وحصل على جائزة نوبل في الأدب عام 1915م، فعد فوزه بمثابة تحية إلى المثالية النبيلة في إنتاجه الأدبي».

واختار سموه مسرحية واحدة كمثال على أعمال رولان التاريخية، وهي مسرحية روبيسبير، وأشاد بها واعتبرها عملاً رائعاً مزدحماً بالدهشة، وقال واصفاً إياها: «كل المسرحية تعتبر عملاً رائعاً، حيث تتلاحق الاندهاشات وتدور الملحمة بأسلوب حقيقي، مظهرة لصفات الخسة والفساد والوحشية المتلازمة، وجنباً إلى جنب مع العظمة، والتضحية بالنفس، لكن الصورة حقيقية، وبالغة الصدق، حتى إنه في العظمة تظهر دناءة الإنسان مبهمة».

النموذج الثالث الذي أتى به سموه هو الكاتب المسرحي والروائي ألبير كامو، واختار له مسرحيته الشهيرة «كاليغولا»، وعرف سموه بالمسرحية قائلاً: «رواية كاليغولا تتحدث عن الإمبراطور الروماني الصغير كاليغولا الذي صُدم بالموت المفاجئ لشقيقته التي أحبها».

ثم قدم سموه قراءة في مضامينها المفاهيمية، وشرح سمات شخصيتها الرئيسية، فقال عنها: «تأملاته السرمدية المحيرة قادته بأن اعتقد أن مقامه أو مركزه ذو سلطات لا حدود لها، فهو ملك العالم، لكن عقله مشوش بالحزن، فهو يجاهد للسيطرة على العالم».

بعد ذلك قدم سموه نموذجاً آخر هو جان كوكتو واختار من أعماله ثلاث مسرحيات، كانت أولاها هي مسرحية «أنتيغون»، فقال عنها: «إنها قصة أنتيغون الأصلية، فهي مسرحية قصيرة جداً من فصل واحد، كُتبت بواسطة المسرحي اليوناني القديم (سوفوكليس) في عام 441 قبل الميلاد، ثم أصبحت موضوعاً شائعاً للكتب والمسرحيات وغيرها من الأعمال المأخوذة عنها».

والمسرحية الثانية لكوكتو التي اختارها سموه في كتابه هذا هي مسرحية «أورفي»، وأجرى مقارنة بينها مع الفيلم الذي أخرجه كوكتو في عام 1950م، ويحمل اسم المسرحية نفسه، والذي عرض في مهرجان كان السينمائي.

وكانت المسرحية الثالثة التي اختارها سموه لكوكتو هي مسرحية «فرسان المائدة المستديرة»، حيث قال عنها: «في هذه المسرحية استعمل الشاعر الفرنسي «كوكتو» الأسطورة لأهداف تقليل العظمة لدى الملوك والرؤساء ومن حولهم».

يتناول سموه محطة مهمة في المسرح الفرنسي، وهي التي يتحدث فيها عن هنري دي مونترلان، صاحب المؤلفات المسرحية الشهيرة، والتي انتخب منها المؤلف مسرحية «الملكة الميتة»، ويصفها بالقصة الغرامية البديعة، والملحمة المأساوية المتميزة، وتدور قصتها حول «بدرو الأول»، ملك البرتغال، وحبيبته «إنيس دي كاسترو»، حيث عاشا قصة حب بعيداً عن أعين الكاشحين والمتطفلين، وظلت علاقتهما محاطة بالظلام، الذي يشبهه سموه بالظلام الذي يحيط بوالد الملك «بدرو» المجنون، القوي، المؤذي.

أما المسرحي «ألكسندر آرنو»، فقد انتخب سموه من مسرحياته «هيون بوردو»، وهي تحفل بتفاصيل عرض مثير وساخر، والعمل مستلهم من «الميلودراما السحرية»، وتقع في تسعة مشاهد، بنظم شعري، ونثر جيد، وباستلهام أناشيد البطولة، وتجري أحداث المسرحية في نهاية حكم «شارلمان»، ملك فرنسا، حيث قام «هيون»، ابن دوق «بوردو»، بقتل ابن «شارلمان»، «شارلوت»، فغضب الإمبراطور وجن جنونه، فحكم على «هيون»، بأن يأتيه بأربعة أضراس، وخصلات من لحية «غوديس»، أمير بابل، وإلا سيتم نفي هيون نفياً نهائياً.

ويتوقف سموه عند منعطف مهم في تاريخ المسرح الفرنسي، عندما يتناول «ألكسندر دوما» أكثر الكتاب الفرنسيين شهرة، حيث ترجمت أعماله إلى مئة لغة، وقام بتأسيس المسرح التاريخي الفرنسي في باريس، ويتخير المؤلف من أعماله المسرحية «هنري الثالث وبلاطه»، والتي تحكي عن حياة هنري الثالث ملك فرنسا، والدسائس التي كانت تحاك في بلاطه.

ومن أعمال الأديب والشاعر المسرحي «بول كلوديل»، صاحب القصائد الدينية العميقة، اختار سموه مسرحية «كتاب كريستوفر كولومبوس، 1833»، فيما توقف عند المؤلف المسرحي «جان أنوي»، لينتخب من أعماله مسرحية «جان دارك»، وهي عمل تاريخي، يتحدث عن تلك البطلة الفرنسية القديمة التي ساعدت الملك «شارل»، السابع ملك فرنسا، وردت الأنجليز عن حصار المدينة الفرنسية «أورليان»، ولأنوي العديد من المسرحيات التي قام بنفسه بتقسيمها إلى مجموعات على أساس السمة السائدة في المسرحية، وقسّمها كالآتي: سوداء: وهي المسرحيات التراجيدية والواقعية، ووردية: وهي التي يغلب عليها الطابع الفانتازي، وبراقة: وهي التي يغلب عليها اللونان الوردي والأسود، وتدور هذه المسرحيات في جو أرستقراطي، وهنالك الأعمال اللاذعة أو الساخرة وهي من نوع الكوميديا السوداء التي تثير الضحك المرير، ومسرحيات تاريخية، وهي التي يكون أبطالها شخصيات تعود إلى عصور مختلفة، وأعمال «باركية»، وهي التي تعتمد على زخرفة المناظر والإكسسوارات والتقنيات ذات التكاليف الباهظة.

ويتناول سموه واحداً من أبرز الكتاب الفرنسيين والعالميين في مجال المسرح، وهو «جان بول سارتر»، وهو فيلسوف وكاتب وناقد، وقد تأثر ب»ظواهرية» الفيلسوفين «هوسرل»، و»هايدجر»، وله قصص ومسرحيات مشهورة، منها: الوجود والعدم، والأبدية القذرة، ورفض قبول جائزة نوبل عندما فاز بها عام 1964م، وقد اختار سموه من أعماله العديدة مسرحية «الشيطان والإله الطيب»، وهو العمل المتكون من ثلاثة فصول، وأحد عشر مشهداً، وتتناول: الطبيعة البشرية، الإله والشيطان، ومسألة: «هل الخير ممكناً؟»، وتجري أحداث المسرحية في ألمانيا القرن السادس عشر، في زمن ثورة الفلاحين ضد الكنيسة.

أما الكاتب المسرحي الروسي الأصل «ساشا غيتري»، صاحب المئة وأربعين عملاً مسرحياً، من أشهرها «العهد الجديد»، و»كلمة كاميرون»، فقد انتخب سموه من مسرحياته «الشيطان الأعرج مشاهد من حياة تاليران»، وهي عبارة عن سيرة للقسيس الفرنسي والدبلوماسي «تشارلز موريس تاليران بيريغولد» الذي خدم بلده خمسين عاماً، تحت إمرة خمسة أنظمة حكم فرنسية مختلفة، هي: الملكية المطلقة، والثورة، والقنصلية، والإمبراطورية، والملكية الدستورية.

ويتناول سموه «ساشا غيتري»، بشيء من التفصيل، فهو كاتب مسرحي، وممثل ومخرج وصانع أفلام، وكاتب سيناريو، نال الكثير منها نجاحاً ساحقاً، كما أخرج أيضاً ستة وثلاثين فيلماً، قام بالتمثيل في معظمها، وهو صاحب سيرة كبيرة، وإن اعتبر لفترة طويلة كاتباً مغموراً.

وقد بحث سموه عن هذه المسرحية، ولم يعثر عليها في المكتبات، ومراكز الأرشيف الفرنسي، والمكتبة الوطنية في باريس، إلى أن وجدها في بلجيكا، وهي ربما تكون النسخة الوحيدة الباقية في حالة جيدة، لذلك قام سموه بتحقيقها لقيمتها الفنية، ويؤكد سموه أن «غيتري» يصلح لأن يكون مثالاً لدراسة التاريخ في العمل المسرحي، لذلك فإن مسرحيته هذه تصلح لأن تكون محل دراستنا للتاريخ على خشبة المسرح الفرنسي، ففيها يظهر التاريخ وشخوصه في معالجة الحاضر الماثل.

الكتاب يوفر المتعة والمعرفة بالمسرح الفرنسي، حاضره، وتاريخه المجيد، وهو يعبر عن رحلة ماتعة قام بها سموه بين أولئك المؤلفين المسرحيين الفرنسيين العظام، لينتخب لنا عدداً من أعمالهم المجيدة، ولا يتوقف جهد سموه عند التعريف بالكتاب وأعمالهم المسرحية فقط، بل يتعداه إلى إبراز القيمة الفنية والجمالية والمعرفية لكل عرض تناوله، ويبين خلال الكتاب التقنيات المسرحية، والمنهج، والمدرسة التي تنتمي إليها الأعمال، والمنطلقات الفكرية والفلسفية للكتاب، فكان هذا الكتاب الذي لا غنى عنه للقراء والباحثين في تاريخ المسرح الفرنسي، وتأثيراته الماثلة والحاضرة بقوة، في المشهد المسرحي المعاصر.

المصدر: جريدة الخليج – علاء الدين محمود ، محمدو لحبيب