Photos Library

View All

Sultan inaugurates Shees Park, launches mountain farming initiative

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Muhammad Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, Thursday morning, made a visit to Khorfakkan during which he inaugurated several tourism and urban facilities and inspected a number of future projects.

The visit comes within the framework of His Highness’s keenness to follow up the progress of development projects in the various cities and regions of the emirate and to check on the conditions of their inhabitants, learn about their needs and provide them with the best cultural, tourism, heritage and social facilities and services.

Beginning his visit to Shees, His Highness was briefed on the plans of the Shees Rest House project located on Khorfakkan Road, which will be implemented in three phases in the northern and southern parts. The rest will include 60 shops. The project will also have more than 217 car parking lots.

Then, His Highness inaugurated Shees Park, where he unveiled the commemorative plaque to mark the official opening. He toured the park’s different facilities dedicated to serving the inhabitants and visitors of the area.

Shees Park is one of the prominent projects that encourage ecotourism, and is distinguished by its unique location between the tall mountains, providing visitors and tourists with a unique tourism experience to explore and enjoy the atmosphere of the mountainous regions.

His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah watched a documentary film about the stages of the accomplishment of the Park, which was completed in 8 months according to the best and latest facilities and services.

After that, His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah, stopped in Najd Al Maqsar village, which is one of the most important ancient human communities in Wadi Washi located within the historical city of Khorfakkan. There, His Highness unveiled the commemorative plaque announcing the official inauguration of the Najd Al Maqsar Village, following which His Highness was detailed about the project, its importance and historical significance.

His Highness explained that the reconstruction and restoration of this area comes in light of his endeavours to preserve the environment and revive the archaeological and historical areas and equip them to become a distinguished tourist destination that attracts visitors from inside and outside the country, and to be a living witness to the history and nature of life and livelihood of the great ancestors.

The village comprises 13 old houses dating back to nearly a century, which the people then used as a haven from the flow of torrents. Moreover, according to archaeological studies, rocks engraved with drawings of camels and horses dating back to 2,000 years BC were found in the area of Wadi Washi.

There are also historical evidences of the exodus of a number of people from the city of Khorfakkan to Wadi Shai, especially Najd Al Maqsar settlement, during the Medieval Period, at the time of the Portuguese colonisation of the region to seek shelter in its impenetrable mountains.

His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah was briefed about Najd Al Maqsar Oasis and Res House project, and directed the implementation of self-harvesting farms, and the provision of all facilities and services to visitors and tourists wishing to learn about the historical heritage of this region. His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah also inspected a number of development projects that serve the region and its people and contribute to stimulating economic and tourism movement in the region.

Qualitative Environmental Initiative

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Muhammad Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, launched a qualitative environmental initiative represented in planting a number of mountains located on Sharjah-Khorfakkan Road with several kinds of long-living trees that are commensurate with the prevailing nature of that region.

The initiative aims to preserve the environment, ensure its biodiversity, and revive some areas and planting them with varieties of trees and plants that are compatible with their natural components. His Highness's environmental initiatives have contributed to the preservation of a large number of endangered plants and animals, and their resettlement in their original natural habitats.

After the inauguration, His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah planted seedlings of several long–living trees such as Fig, Emirati Fig, Myrtle and Boswellia carteri, and directed each mountain be named after the names of the trees planted there.

مكتبة الصور

عرض الكل

تفقّد مجموعة من المشروعات وتفضل بزراعة شتلات التين والميز واللبان العربي والسقب

سلطان يفتتح حديقة شيص ويدشن مبادرة زراعة جبال طريق خورفكان

زار صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة، صباح اليوم الخميس، مدينة خورفكان، افتتح خلالها عدداً من المرافق السياحية والحضرية وتفقد مجموعة من المشروعات المستقبلية.

وتأتي الزيارة في إطار حرص سموه على متابعة سير أعمال المشاريع التنموية في مختلف مدن ومناطق الإمارة والاطمئنان على أحوال أهاليها وتفقد احتياجاتها ورفدها بأفضل المرافق والخدمات الثقافية والسياحية والتراثية والاجتماعية.

واطلع سموه خلال الزيارة على مخططات مشروع استراحة شيص الواقع على طريق خورفكان، والذي سينفذ على ثلاث مراحل في الجزئين الشمالي والجنوبي وستضم الاستراحة 60 محل تجاري وأكثر من 217 موقفاً للسيارات.

ثم توجه سموه لافتتاح حديقة شيص حيث أزاح سموه الستار عن اللوحة التذكارية إيذانا بالافتتاح الرسمي، ليتجول سموه بعدها في أرجاء الحديقة، مطلعاً على ما تضمه من مرافق وخدمات لأهالي وزوار المنطقة.

وتعد الحديقة من المشاريع البارزة التي تشجع على السياحة البيئية وتتميز بموقعها الفريد بين أحضان الجبال الشاهقة، وتوفر للزوار والسياح تجربة سياحية فريدة لاكتشاف أجواء المناطق الجبلية والاستمتاع بها.

وتابع صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة فيلماً تسجيلياً حول مراحل انجاز الحديقة والتي أنجزت في 8 شهور وفق أفضل المرافق والخدمات.

 بعد ذلك توجه صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة إلى قرية نجد المقصار التي تعد من أهم مراكز التجمعات البشرية القديمة بوادي «وشي» الواقعة ضمن نطاق مدينة خورفكان التاريخية، وافتتح سموه قرية نجد المقصار بإزاحة الستار عن اللوح التذكاري ليستمع بعدها سموه إلى شرح عن تفاصيل المشروع وأهميته ودلالته التاريخية، حيث تم العثور على العديد من الشواهد والآثار بالمنطقة التي تؤكد تواجد الانسان في هذه المنطقة منذ آلاف السنين حيث يتواجد الماء والتربة الصالحة للزراعة.

وأوضح سموه بأن إعمار وترميم هذه المنطقة يأتي في ظل ما يسعى إليه سموه من المحافظة على البيئة وإعادة إحياء المناطق الأثرية والتاريخية وتجهيزها لتكون وجهة سياحية متميزة تستقطب الزائرين من داخل وخارج الدولة، ولتكون شاهداً حياً على تاريخ وطبيعة حياة ومعيشة أجدادنا العظام.

وتضم القرية 13 منزلاً قديماً يرجع تاريخها إلى ما يقرب من مائة عام، وكان يتخذها الأهالي في ذلك الوقت سكناً وملاذاً من جريان السيول، وبحسب الدراسات الأثرية تم العثور في منطقة وادي «وشي» على صخور منقوشة برسومات للإبل والخيول يُقدر عمرها بألفي عام قبل الميلاد.

كما توجد فيها دلائل تاريخية على نزوح عدد من أهالي مدينة خورفكان إلى منطقة وادي «وشي» وبالأخص مستوطنة نجد المقصار، خلال العصور الوسطى، وقت الاستعمار البرتغالي للمنطقة للاحتماء بجبالها المنيعة.

واطلع صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة على مشروع استراحة وواحة نجد المقصار، ووجه بتنفيذ مزارع ذاتية القطف، وتوفير كافة المرافق والخدمات للزوار والسياح الراغبين في التعرف على الإرث التاريخي لهذه المنطقة. كما تفقد سموه عدد من المشاريع التنموية التي تخدم المنطقة وأهلها وتسهم في تحفيز الحركة الاقتصادية والسياحية في المنطقة.

مبادرة بيئية نوعية

كما دشن صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة مبادرة بيئية نوعية تتمثل في زراعة عدد من الجبال الواقعة على طريق الشارقة خورفكان بأشجار التين والسقب والميز واللبان العربي التي تتناسب مع طبيعة تلك المنطقة وتسمية الجبال بأسماء الأشجار المزروعة عليها.

وتهدف المبادرة إلى الحفاظ على البيئة وضمان تنوعها الحيوي وإعادة إحياء بعض المناطق وزراعتها بأنواع من الأشجار والنباتات تتوافق مع مكوناتها الطبيعية، وقد ساهمت مبادرات سموه البيئية في المحافظة على عدد كبير من النباتات والحيوانات المهددة بالانقراض، وإعادة توطينها في أماكنها الأصلية.

وتفضل صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة بزراعة وغرس شتلات من أشجار التين والميز واللبان العربي والسقب، بيديه الكريمتين على جبال خورفكان.